How Can We Rescue Animals & Secure Them to Their Normal Conditions? (by Himanandini Mohanty)

Culminating Project, Part 1

Research Question: How to rescue animals and secure them to their normal conditions?

Research Collection:

“ARF | Resources & Links | Starting a Rescue Organization.” ARF | Resources & Links | Starting a Rescue Organization. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Nov. 2014.

This site gives tremendous information on rescuing animals. I am also planning to start an animal shelter as I am highly motivated towards the cause. This site give information on the issues related to recuing animals and the care and concern required for each animal.

START Rescue | Shelter Transport Animal Rescue Team.” START Shelter Transport Animal Rescue Team. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Nov. 2014.

I personally like this site because it not only talks about rescuing animals but also sheltering them and bringing them back to normal life. It is a great site to explore and find information on various aspects of the rescue team.

“Animal League Pet Rescue.” – North Shore Animal League America. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Nov. 2014.This is a great site where I found in depth information on rescue operation process. It has a heading called rescue. I feel every shelter must have a trained and certified rescue team. It is highly essential to be skilled in order to handle animals

Part 2

Introduction:

Animals need help everywhere. Volunteers help save the lives of thousands of animals each year by assisting in the direct care of animals, fundraising, reaching out to the community and fostering animals in their home.

I have started to volunteer at OFOSA for 3 hours on weekends. I work as a animal care assistant which involves work like feeding, giving water, cleaning kennels, making beds for the animals, laundry etc for the animals. . I feel very happy and planning to continuously support the shelter in many different ways as possible.

Volunteering has helped be to join a network of hundreds of thousands of people working to make the world safe and more humane for all living creatures. It has helped me discover animal care skills which I never knew that I had. Also dint someone once say that the best things in life are free like enjoying a wagging tail, a purr and a smile.

To,

The President

OFOSA

4240 SW 185th Ave,

Beaverton

OR 97007

Dear Sir/ Mam,

My name is Himanandini Mohanty and I am currently studying at Portland Community College. I am a volunteer at OFOSA in Portland. I work for your shelter and it has become my second home now.

I want to talk to you about some of the concern areas in the shelter like rescuing animals and bring them back to a normal state with proper care and attention. I think the shelter needs to invest on trained and qualified people in order to handle animals and understand their behavioral patterns. I care for animals and feel that animals need attention and love when they are rescued or abandoned.

I understand that most part of the shelter expenses comes from adoption as well as donation and it becomes difficult to manage the process of animal care but we need to focus more on restoring animal safety and stop animal cruelty. I request you to kindly implement some of my ideas in shelter which will be of great help.

We can built up focused groups for rescuing different breeds of animals and also build a medical care team. Sometimes animals become too fearful or anxious when they are rescued. The shelter should provide them a safe and loving atmosphere.

Rescue team needs to target a particular area like Oregon state. Firstly we can start to rescue small dogs and cats and then move towards four to five big dogs considering the amount of space you have in the shelter. Rescue fund needs to be raised as high costs are involved in rescuing and rehabilitating animals. The process starts with having a trained team, well equipped rescue vans, medical care, responding to the behavioral traits of each animal etc.

Emergency rescue team is an essential part of any animal shelter. The team should be ready at any moment’s notice to help save animal’s lives whether they are responding to national emergencies or natural disasters. Pure breed and puppy mills rescue is an important area to cover. Inhumane breeding operations take place everywhere and it needs to stop. These operations put profit over animal welfare, imprisoning female dogs to breed litter after litter without proper medical facility.

I also suggest to go to schools and give children an orientation on animal shelter activities. We can also include it in their course curriculum. This will motivate them to work as a volunteer in animal shelters. Advertising your cause and encouraging people to join rescue teams will go a long way in building up a well trained rescue team. More frequent adoption events and fostering for animals can help in creating space for animals.

Lastly, I wish to educate people to love animals and create a bond with them. It is not only important to care but also work for the innocent creatures who live with us. Every year we can rescue thousands of animals from puppy mills, animal fighting operations, hoarders, and other situations where animals suffer from life-threatening cruelty. The world will become a better place if we all work together for the cause of animals.

Sincerely,

Himanandini Mohanty

Documenting My Continued Volunteer Work

I have started to volunteer at OFOSA for 3 hours on weekends. I work as a animal care assistant which involves work like feeding, giving water, cleaning kennels, making beds for the animals, laundry etc for the animals.

First we had an orientation program for 2 and 1/2 hours giving us details of how to do the volunteering work. Then on the weekends I was supervised while doing the work. I wanted to do so much for the animals. The volunteering program iss just apt for me. Previously, i have also fostered animals at my home. I will like to continue to foster animals in future. It is so much fun and is also for a very good cause.

Opening a home temporarily to an animal is a special way to show passion for helping animals. Animals need help everywhere. Volunteers help save the lives of thousands of animals each year by assisting in the direct care of animals, reaching out to the community and fostering animals in their home. By fostering a shelter animal, one will be providing rehabilitation in a nurturing home environment and directly preparing them for adoption into a loving home.

The organization I work for has a beautiful saying as friends of shelter animals and they are exactly having a deep friendship with the animal they have at the shelter. They take care and nurture them like their own friend. The biggest hardship the shelter is facing is regarding the adoption. Adoption is long process. Adoption events also help in getting the animals a new permanent home. I wish and I have also persuaded few of my family friends to foster or adopt an animal from the shelter. I am willing to work for the shelter even after my project is over. I feel very happy and planning to continuously support the shelter in many different ways as possible

One comment

  1. Dom Alvarez

    Hello, I love the stance you are taking, they are valid points that need to be addressed in regard to helping these animals. I do think it would have been a good point to bring up some fund raising ideas as to help afford the different teams, or ideas in how to get volunteers that have that kind of expertise. I do think the school idea is a great way to help educate the general public and promote volunteering.

    Next, your organization was great. Your word choice could use a little work as there were a few parts that were awkward to read. One thing that I do, because I have the same problem, is to read it out loud to someone else and get their feedback. Lastly, it was a pleasant read, polite and formal.

Leave a Reply

