Black Women and Identity (by Kori Goudeau)

culminating project imageIntroduction: My research question kind of has two parts. It is more or less: does the parent altering the looks of their child(ren) help contribute to low self-esteem in adolescence and/or adulthood? What about its effect on what they eventually consider to be their identity? Specifically in the African American community with hair relaxing.

Culminating Project Part I: The research collection

My research collection largely consists of personal experiences throughout my family and friends.

Another huge resource for me is the film Good Hair.  It is a 2009 American comedy documentary film produced by Chris Rock Productions and HBO Films, starring and narrated by comedian Chris Rock. Premiering at the Sundance Film Festival on January 18, 2009, Good Hair was released to select theaters in the United States by Roadside Attractions on October 9, 2009, opening across the country on October 23.

Another resource I’m using is an article online titled, “Black Women and Identity: What’s Hair Got to Do with It?” by Cheryl Thompson. URL: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/spo.ark5583.0022.105

Culminating Project Part II: The Public Writing

I plan to publish my work to the Citizens’ Writers Blog instead of creating my own blog. I figure there’s already established traffic there and I wouldn’t have to build my own. I think I would receive a lot more feedback this way.

Author’s Note:

I learned so much while researching this topic. Most importantly I learned that this topic can be a gateway to several more topics including racism, self-esteem, colorism, classism, etc. The list goes on and on.

Title to my blog piece: I’m still going back and forth with a few different titles but I like the title from the article that I’m using for my research. “Black women and Identity: What’s love got to do with it?” I can’t think of any other title that simplifies my writing any better than that.

List of tag words for my piece: women, hair, black, African, American, relaxer, self-esteem, parents, influence, history, race, racism, community, culture, tradition, customs, natural, debate, straight

 

2 comments

  1. I’d love to see your final blog post. Do you have something that you’ll be able to submit before the term ends? Great topic…so important!

  2. hillarycmurphy1

    Hi Kori,
    You chose a really great topic to research for your project! You stated your questions clearly in your intro paragraph, and the questions themselves were very detailed. I think it’s a really good idea to post on this blog since their is already so much traffic on here, many people are bound to read what you write.
    I would have liked to read more about your community work throughout the term, and about your thoughts on your topic/research question; and also an example of the experiences in your family that drove you to chose this topic. Are you going to expand on these in your blog posting? I would love to read it!
    Overall, I really enjoyed reading your final project. The idea of basing your self worth on how you look is a big problem in today’s society. Parents should raise their children to love how they look, who they are, and teach them to embrace their differences. I’m looking forward to seeing your future blog posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

