Melissa Bain

This is a picture of my boys and there cousins on our zoo trip

This is a picture of my boys and there cousins on our zoo trip

My name is Melissa Bain and I am working on my transfer degree to PSU where I will continue towards a Bachelor in Family Studies. The theme I chose to write about is Education with my main focus being Special education. I will be volunteering at Eastwood Elementary school which is my youngest sons school. I chose this theme because both of my children have been in Special Education and it has had a huge impact on our lives. I would like to continue learning as much about the help children receive in the classroom. I also plan to start a parent support group at Eastwood and volunteering in the classroom will help me gain knowledge for that as well. I hope to find out the following:

The importance of volunteers in the classroom

What kind of support to teachers need from parents?

Mainstreaming vs. Special education classroom?

What are some ways the parents and/or PTA can help the special education program?

Leave a Reply

