Meet Paige Burlingame: TBA Education

Hi! I’m Paige Burlingame. I am an English major and I have the cutest cat in the world.

Image

The theme I’ve settled on is education. Specifically education through print media. Print media is important to me for a number of reasons. The first of which being that I love books. Physical books. Digital books are awesome, but there’s just something about physically holding a book and turning the pages that is really satisfying. The other big reason I love print media is the fact that I was the Editor-in-Chief of my high school newspaper. Working in print journalism for the majority of my high school career has had a profound impact on how I view newspapers in general. Knowing how much effort goes into producing good issues that are also on-time has given me a unique perspective.

I’m going to be doing two separate volunteer opportunities. I will be working behind the scenes at an event during the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association trade show. I will also be directing a book drive. What I would like to see donated are children’s books from parents whose kids have outgrown them. The book drive is still a little vague in terms of who will be receiving the donated books, but the donations will be received at the bookstore where I work. I am also looking into having a donations box set up at my younger brother’s school.

I would like to learn more about the kinds of books the current generation of children like. I know the kind of books that were popular when I was a kid, but I don’t really know anything about recent children’s literature.

About paigeburlingame

22. PDX. Student. Writer. Bookseller. Nerd extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

