Better late than never

My name is Robert Benson, although most folks just call me Bobby. I am 36 years old and intend to major in some aspect of Writing. I hope to use my writing in the arenas of environmental/ecological awareness as well as in support of social issues such as gender equality, mental health issues and general tolerance and accpetance of people at large.

The theme I am working with this term is Environmental Sustainability. I chose this theme as I believe this is a topic which cannot be discussed enough these days. I feel that more people should get involved with the health and well-being of the planet as it reflects the health and well-being of the human race.

My volunteer work will be face to face at the Sylvania Learning Garden which is sponsored by the Sylvania Environmental Center. You can view their page here, http://www.pcc.edu/about/sustainability/on-campus/sylvania/ . The goal of the E-center is to educate students and the community on topics related to sustainability, as well as too offer students eadership opportunities for working with the public and the enviornment. At the garden, you can see examples of cob buildings, and organic gardening. You will see a rainwater collection system as well as vermiculture projects, organic gardening projects and a lot of excellant people who want to share their love of the earth. Up at the E-center, which is currently located at CC215, you ca obtaine information about a wide variety of environmental topics, and even gain access to a bicycle repair kit if needed. I will be working at the garden at the least on Mondays and Tuesdays for about 2 hours each day. The supervisor of the Garden and Center is Peter Ritson, who can be reached at 971-722-8342 or by e-mail at peter.ritson@pcc.edu. Peter is happy to have more help, and anyonewho is interested in working with the E-center/Learning Garden should feel free to contact him.

Some of the things I hope to learn while working with the E-center are as follows;

1) Improved recognition and identification of native plants as well as edibles and medicinals.

2) New ways in which I can help others to develop an interest, understanding and/or compassion for the environment.

3) Ways in which I can reduce my own footprint on the earth and help others to do so as well.

Ducks in a puddle

This image I took a few years ago on the MHCC campus, which I used to live next to. I love this picture and gave it the title of, “Find Your Bliss”. These ducks found their bliss in this tiny puddle alongside the driveway and parking lot of the school.

 

Leave a Reply

