Meet Sharon J. Bartley: Volunteer with Animal Aid

My name is Sharon J Bartley. Currently, I am working towards an associate’s degree of Science. This term I am going to be writing about animals, their influence in our society and lives, how they are treated, and that is only the topping of what I want to discuss. It is important to me because I have seen animals being mistreated, seen the effect they have on people, the things they do in our lives, they are our food, friends, companions, protectors, etc. Furthermore, they share our planet with us. Also, I just love animals and working with them on a daily basis. I adore my Shih Tzu, Mr. Slippers. He has a great personality and sense of humor for a dog.

My community partner is Animal Aid, they are a shelter in Portland striving to be non-profit and no-killing of animals. They were founded in 1969 and hope to educate the public about spaying and neutering their pets. In the hopes that, one day, there will be fewer pets on the street and in shelters, to help pay veterinarian costs in the community, and find homes for the animals under their protection. The organization holds cats in a free roaming shelter and offer foster homes for dogs and cats.

Lastly, I want to learn more about the stories of why animals are on the street. How can we encourage people to walk their dogs or take them on runs so they can get more exercise? I want to help our world be healthier, take care of our animals, andwork together as a human race to answer to logic and principle rather than living on just emotion and selfish desires.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Animals, People, and Their Emotional Responses (by Guest Writer Sharon Bartley) |

Leave a Reply

