Meet Melissa Arnold: Volunteer within the Resource Abundance/Scarcity Theme (TBA)

Name: Melissa Arnold

I’m choosing the “Recourse Abundance/ Scarcity” for my theme during this course.

I chose this theme because I’m faced with it every day at all hours of the day. It’s important to me that I begin making a real connection with the homeless and disadvantaged people that I see day in and day out that surround my building. I want to be able to not just look past them, but at them and see them as my fellow human beings.

ChimamandaAdichie’s TED talk: “The Danger of a Single Story” inspired me to look deep within and ask myself if I felt Portland’s homeless population was a single story to me. Some answers that I’d like asked would be, who are these people and where did they come from? How did they get here and why? What are their aspirations? Do they still hope and dream?

One comment

  1. Pingback: (by Guest Writer Melissa Arnold) |

Leave a Reply

