Meet Jessica Yaws: Volunteer in Early Childhood Education

JessicaBioPicMy name is Jessica Yaws and I’m majoring in Music Therapy. The theme that I have chosen for my writing this term is education. This theme is important to me because I believe that education starts as soon as you are born. Education helps mold us into the people we decide to become.

I’m going to be helping my nephew, who is in foster care, learn colors, letters, numbers, how to behave, and hopefully get him away from the television and more into more hands on activities. My supervisor will be my parents. Along with this community service I will be researching the impact of education in the 2-4 year old age group.

The main question I plan to answer through the volunteer work is “What are some fun ways that my nephew can learn while still having fun?” I would also like to know how to teach him ways to handle his frustration with learning. I’m very excited for my volunteering project.

Leave a Reply

